When was the last decathlon in the Olympics?

When was the last decathlon in the Olympics?

Another all-around was held at the 1904 Summer Olympics. The modern decathlon first appeared at the 1912 Games. The current official decathlon world record holder is Frenchman Kevin Mayer, who scored a total of 9,126 points at the 2018 Décastar in France….Decathlon.

Athletics Decathlon
Men Ashton Eaton 9045 pts (2015)

What is the order of events in the decathlon?

It was introduced as a three-day event at the Olympic Games in 1912. Decathlon events are: (first day) 100-metre dash, running long (broad) jump, shot put, high jump, and 400-metre run; (second day) 110-metre hurdles, discus throw, pole vault, javelin throw, and 1,500-metre run.

Who won the last Olympic decathlon?

Damian Warner
TOKYO, Japan — Damian Warner of Canada won the decathlon after two grueling days of competition in the Tokyo heat and humidity. Warner, who wore an ice vest often during the competition to battle those conditions, posted an Olympic record of 9,018 points for the gold.

Has anyone won the Olympic decathlon twice?

Ashton James Eaton (born January 21, 1988) is a retired American decathlete and two-time Olympic champion, who holds the world record in the indoor heptathlon event. He successfully defended his Olympic title in Rio 2016 by winning the decathlon gold medal and tying the Olympic record.

Who won the Olympic decathlon 2016?

Ashton Eaton
In 2016, Ashton Eaton won his second decathlon Olympic gold His score of 8,893 equal led the Olympic record and saw him defeat second-placed Kevin Mayer.

What is a relay race in athletics?

At the Olympics and other World Athletics-sanctioned tournaments, a relay race is an event where a team of four athletes run equal predetermined distances in a sprint race, each passing a rod-like object called the ‘baton’ to the next person to continue the race. The last runner in a relay is called the ‘anchor’.

Share this post