What technology did the Tainos use?

What technology did the Taínos use?

Technology. Taínos used cotton, hemp, and palm extensively for fishing nets and ropes. Their dugout canoes (Kanoa) were made in various sizes, which could hold from 2 to 150 people. An average sized kanoa would hold about 15 – 20 persons.

What did the Taínos invent?

We use words commonly used in both the English and Spanish languages such as barbacoa/barbecue, canoas/canoes, jamaca/hammock, and jurakan/hurricane are words invented by the Taínos.

What are the tools the Taínos used?

Taino were able to carve large works of art in stone and other materials. They used tools like chisels made of stone and shell. They were especially used to cut stone, wood, bone and shell as well as for finishing touches. When working with this tool, the artisans used a percutor which was a round…

What other weapons did the Taínos use?

Thus the Arawak/Taíno had some weapons which they used in defense. They used the bow and arrow, and had developed some poisons for their arrow tips. They had cotton ropes for defensive purposes and some spears with fish hooks on the end. Since there were hardwoods on the island, they did have a war club made of macana.

How did Tainos communicate?

The Taino people spoke a language called (you guessed it) Taino. This language was a part of the Arawakan language group, a collection of languages used among South American native populations.

What activities did the Tainos do?

The Taínos were farmers and fishers, and practiced intensive root crop cultivation in conucos, or small raised plots. Manioc was the principal crop, but potatoes, beans, peanuts, peppers and other plants were also grown. Farming was supplemented with the abundant fish and shellfish animal resources of the region.

What type of people were Tainos?

The Taíno were an Arawak people who were the indigenous people of the Caribbean and Florida. At the time of European contact in the late 15th century, they were the principal inhabitants of most of Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola (the Dominican Republic and Haiti), and Puerto Rico.

Share this post