What are the 6 counties in Northern Ireland?

What are the 6 counties in Northern Ireland?

Northern Ireland is divided into six counties, namely: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone. Six largely rural administrative counties based on these were among the eight primary local government areas of Northern Ireland from its 1921 creation until 1973.

Why Northern Ireland have 6 counties?

Most northern unionists wanted the territory of the Ulster government to be reduced to six counties, so that it would have a larger Protestant unionist majority. They feared that the territory would not last if it included too many Catholics and Irish nationalists.

How many counties are there in Northern Ireland?

6 counties
Northern Ireland is made up of 6 counties and the Republic of Ireland is made up of 26 counties.

Do Northern Irish consider themselves British?

In Northern Ireland, national identity is complex and diverse. Most people of Protestant background consider themselves British, while a majority of people of Catholic background consider themselves Irish.

Is Cavan Catholic or Protestant?

The 2016 Census reported that of Cavan’s 76,173 residents, 82% (62,393 people) identified as Roman Catholic. Other stated religions made up 11% of the population (8,671 people). 5% (3,904 people) stated that they followed no religion. 2% (1,209 people) did not state their religion.

What is the county of Belfast?


Belfast Scots: Bilfawst Irish: Béal Feirste
County Belfast county borough
Country Northern Ireland
Sovereign state United Kingdom
Post town BELFAST

What is the largest county in Northern Ireland?

county Tyrone
The largest county in Northern Ireland is county Tyrone, at 3,155 km². The smallest county in Ireland is county Louth, which is just 820 km² in area – 9 times smaller than county Cork. The next smallest is county Carlow, which is 896 km². The smallest county in Northern Ireland is county Armagh, at 1,254 km².

Why do Protestants call it Londonderry?

The right name for the city is Derry from the Irish Doire Cholm Chille – meaning the oak-grove of Colmkille. It got the name Londonderry from a company of swindlers that were founded in London, in the seventeenth century, to drive the native Irish off the land and to settle the place with English and Scots.

What are the names of the counties in Ireland?

They are County Antrim, County Armagh, County Down, County Fermanagh, County Londonderry and County Tyrone. The six counties in Northern Ireland and the 26 counties in the Republic of Ireland make up the 32 counties of the island of Ireland.

How many counties are in Ireland?

The total number of counties in the island of Ireland is 32, with Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland often respectively called “the Six Counties” and “the Twenty-Six Counties”, especially by Irish nationalists opposed to the partition of Ireland.

What counties are in Southern Ireland?

DETAILED MAP OF SOUTHERN IRELAND. including County Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary, Wicklow, Clare, Kilkenny, Carlow. see also: Map of Cork, Ireland.

Is Donegal in northern or Southern Ireland?

Donegal is the northernmost county of Ireland but it is part of the Republic of Ireland, and not the U.K.

Share this post