Common questions

Who was in Australian government in 2013?

Who was in Australian government in 2013?

2013 Australian federal election

Leader Tony Abbott Kevin Rudd
Party Liberal/National coalition Labor
Leader since 1 December 2009 26 June 2013
Leader’s seat Warringah (NSW) Griffith (Qld.)
Last election 72 seats, 43.32% 72 seats, 37.99%

Who was PM before Scott Morrison?

Robert Menzies and Kevin Rudd served two non-consecutive terms in office while Alfred Deakin and Andrew Fisher served three non-consecutive terms; the 30th and current prime minister is Scott Morrison (since 24 August 2018).

Who has been nominated for Australian of the Year?

2022 Nominees

  • Australian of the YearSAProfessor Helen MarshallSAPhillip de PintoSADr Samantha PillaySANatasha Stott Despoja AO.
  • Senior Australian of the YearSAMark Le MessurierSAPeter ClarkSABill Denny AM BMSADawn Jennings.
  • Young Australian of the YearSADr Trudy LinSAKyle Chalmers OAMSABianca NilssonSAZoe Simpson.

Who are the recipients of the Order of Australia Medal?

The Medal of the Order of Australia is awarded to individuals nominated by the community whose achievements are deemed ‘worthy of recognition’ by the Order of Australia Council. This year’s recipients include Men’s Shed founder Warren Humphries, R U Ok?

When was the Companion of the Order of Australia created?

It was established on 14 February 1975 by Elizabeth II, Queen of Australia, to recognise Australian citizens and other persons for achievement, meritorious service, or for both. At that time, Companion of the Order of Australia was the highest of three grades of the Order (Companion, Officer, Member).

Who is the head of the Order of Australia?

The Queen of Australia is sovereign head of the order, while the Governor-General of Australia is the principal companion/dame/knight (as relevant at the time) and chancellor of the order. The governor-general’s official secretary, currently Paul Singer, is secretary of the order.

Can a state governor present the Order of Australia?

While state governors can present the officer and member level and the Medal of the Order of Australia to their respective state’s residents, only the Queen of Australia or the governor-general can present the companion level (and previously also the knight/dame level).

Share this post