When did the National Curriculum change?

When did the National Curriculum change?

2012-14 Gove reforms It suggested significant changes to the structure of the National Curriculum, including dividing Key Stage 2 into two shorter (two-year) phases. In 2013, the government produced a draft National Curriculum, followed by a final version in September 2013, for first teaching in September 2014.

What is Key Stage 3 taught?

There are 3 ‘core’ subjects (maths, science and English) and a further 9 ‘foundation’ subjects which must be taught in KS3. Science. History. Geography.

What is the difference between Key Stage 3 and 4?

In secondary school, the key stages are: Key Stage 3 – ages 11-14 (Years 7-9) Key Stage 4 – ages 14-16 (Years 10-11)

What is wrong with the National Curriculum?

What is wrong with the new National Curriculum? The following notes cover centralised control, a lack of civilised aims and values, rigid subject divisions, a lack of breadth and balance, and (last but not least) targets which are inappropriate to the age and development of younger children.

Why was the National Curriculum Revised?

It was brought in because there were concerns there were inequalities in the curriculums being offered by schools. The national curriculum set out what children should be taught, with the aim of ensuring each pupil was given the same standard of education.

What are the key stages of the National Curriculum?

The national curriculum is grouped into blocks of years called Key Stages. Key Stages 1, 2, 3 and 4 take the child through ages 5 to 16 and include all the years of compulsory education, while Key Stage 5 covers post-compulsory education.

What age is Key Stage 3 in NI?

Curriculum key stages

Age Stage Assessment
10 to 11 Key Stage 2 Teacher assessment of learning and skills.of the school’s choice.
11 to 12 Key Stage 3 Teacher assessment of learning and skills.
12 to 13 Key Stage 3 Teacher assessment of learning and skills.
13 to 14 Key Stage 3 Teacher assessment of learning and skills.

What year group is Key Stage 3?

Key Stage 3 – ages 11-14 (Years 7-9) Key Stage 4 – ages 14-16 (Years 10-11)

Why do we need national curriculum?

The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the core knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It aims to: “embody rigour and high standards and create coherence in what is taught in schools. ensure that all children are taught the essential knowledge in the key subject disciplines.

What should an effective school curriculum contain Ofsted?

The curriculum, schemes of work, lessons and work given to pupils are sequenced and planned effectively so that pupils know more, can do more, and remember more. Teachers’ pedagogical and subject content knowledge is good. Pupils’ work and outcomes are good, including for specific groups.

How many key stages are there in the National Curriculum?

The National Curriculum affects all 4 key stages, meaning it involves pupils aged 3-16. The National Curriculum is often divided in to key stages 1 and 2, and then 3. They are issued by law and act as a statutory guidance for teachers.

Are there any changes to the curriculum in 2015?

Perhaps some of the biggest changes to the National Curriculum in 2015 will affect GCSEs. For now the changes will only influence Maths and English, and further changes for other subjects will take place in 2016.

What should be included in Key Stage 3 geography?

Pupils at key stage 3 should be able to collect and analyse geographical data, and build further on their knowledge of globes and maps. Of course, one of the best ways to enrich the National Curriculum, especially with Geography, is to visit such major cities and key physical characteristics.

When does the new national curriculum come into force?

The new curriculum covers primary school pupils, aged five to 11, and secondary schools pupils up to the age of 14. A new curriculum for 15- and 16-year-olds will come into force from September 2015.

Share this post