Popular guidelines

What is the meaning of Yang di-Pertuan Agong?

What is the meaning of Yang di-Pertuan Agong?

paramount ruler
government of Malaysia state—a monarch—who bears the title Yang di-Pertuan Agong (“paramount ruler”) and who is elected from among nine hereditary state rulers for a five-year term.

What is Yang di-Pertuan?

Yang di-Pertuan Negara (English: (he) who is Lord of the State) is a title for the head of state, and has been used as an official title at various times in Brunei and Singapore.

How much is Agong salary?

Yang di-Pertuan Agong

Supreme Head of the Federation
First holder Tuanku Abdul Rahman
Deputy Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong
Salary RM1,054,560 per annum
Website www.istananegara.gov.my

What is the meaning of Agong?

From Malay agung (formerly agong) great, important, also used as a title of respect from Javanese agung.

How do you address Agong?

When formally introduced to the Agong and his consort, it is only natural for you to address them as “Your Majesty” and for the Sultans, it is “Your Royal Highness”. Subsequently, you can address all the rulers and their consorts simply as “Tuanku”.

How is Yang di-Pertuan Agong chosen?

(3) The Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall be elected by the Conference of Rulers for a term of five years, but may at any time resign his office by writing under his hand addressed to the Conference of Rulers or be removed from office by the Conference of Rulers, and shall cease to hold office on ceasing to be a Ruler.

Where is Agong now?

The official residence of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong is Istana Negara (the National Palace) located in Jalan Duta in the federal capital Kuala Lumpur.

How do you use Agong?

The agung is usually performed while standing beside the instrument, holding the upper edge of its flange between the thumb and other fingers with the left hand while striking the knob with the right hand.

What does Agong mean in Filipino?

Noun. agong. small hut (usually located in the rice field or a garden)

Who is next Agong?

Sultan Abdullah of Pahang
The 16th and current Yang di-Pertuan Agong is Sultan Abdullah of Pahang, replacing Muhammad V of Kelantan, who abdicated on 6 January 2019. Abdullah was elected on 24 January, at a special meeting of the Conference of Rulers; he took the oath of office and was sworn in at the Istana Negara on 31 January.

Share this post