Popular guidelines

What is included in a focused respiratory assessment?

What is included in a focused respiratory assessment?

A focused respiratory system assessment includes collecting subjective data about the patient’s history of smoking, collecting the patient’s and patient’s family’s history of pulmonary disease, and asking the patient about any signs and symptoms of pulmonary disease, such as cough and shortness of breath.

What is an example of a focused nursing assessment?

A focused assessment may include collecting subjective data about the patient’s diet and exercise levels, or patient’s and the patient’s family’s history of the gastrointestinal and genitourinary disease, asking about any signs of abdominal discomfort or pain, nausea, vomiting, bloating, regularity, constipation.

How do you write a respiratory assessment?

Documentation of a basic, normal respiratory exam should look something along the lines of the following: The chest wall is symmetric, without deformity, and is atraumatic in appearance. No tenderness is appreciated upon palpation of the chest wall. The patient does not exhibit signs of respiratory distress.

What 7 things are you looking at when you assess a patient respiratory function?

Observe the patient for important respiratory clues:

  • Check the rate of respiration.
  • Look for abnormalities in the shape of the patient’s chest.
  • Ask about shortness of breath and watch for signs of labored breathing.
  • Check the patient’s pulse and blood pressure.
  • Assess oxygen saturation.

What are focused assessments?

A focused assessment is a detailed nursing assessment of specific body system (s) related to the presenting problem or other current concern(s).

Which step should be performed first in a respiratory assessment?

This is a very important part of the exam, since many abnormalities can be detected by merely inspecting the thorax as the patient is breathing. Palpation – is the first step of the assessment, where we will touch the patient. Many breathing difficulties can be seen during this step.

What are the types of focused assessment?

Nurses can perform focused assessments in any of these areas:

  • Neurological assessment.
  • Respiratory assessment.
  • Cardiovascular assessment.
  • Gastrointestinal assessment.
  • Renal assessment.
  • Musculoskeletal assessment.
  • Skin assessment.
  • Eye assessment.

What are the landmarks for respiratory assessment?

Respiratory Examination

  • Usually the APEX of the lungs bilaterally (2cm superior to medial 1/3 of clavicle)
  • Superior Lobes anterior (2nd intercostal space mid clavicular line) and posterior (Between C7 & T3)
  • Inferior Lobes bilaterally anterior (6th intercostal space, mid-axillary line) and posteriorly (between T3 & T10)

How do you assess respiratory function?

The most basic test is spirometry. This test measures the amount of air the lungs can hold. The test also measures how forcefully one can empty air from the lungs. Spirometry is used to screen for diseases that affect lung volumes.

What can we assess about the respiratory system?

A focused assessment of the respiratory system includes a review for common or concerning symptoms including: Cough—productive/nonproductive, hoarse, or barking; Sputum characteristics—clear, purulent, bloody (hemoptysis), rust colored, or pink and frothy; Dyspnea (shortness of breath) with or without activity.

When are focused assessment conducted?

The focused assessment is the stage in which the problem is exposed and treated. Due to the importance of vital signs and their ever-changing nature, they are continuously monitored during all parts of the assessment.

What is the difference between a focused assessment and a comprehensive assessment?

Comprehensive health assessments include the patient’s history, a physical examination, and vital signs. Focused health assessments are more detailed assessments that relate to a current medical condition or patient complaint.

Share this post