What is an EPA nonattainment area?

What is an EPA nonattainment area?

Nonattainment: Any area that does not meet (or that contributes to ambient air quality in a nearby area that does not meet) the national primary or secondary ambient air quality standard for a NAAQS.

What is a nonattainment area for ozone?

“Nonattainment” is the technical term that simply means an area has too much of one of the nation’s most widespread and dangerous air pollutants, such as ozone. It means that an area must clean up emissions to reach, or “attain,” the official, health-based limits for that pollutant.

Is there a criteria pollutant that Dallas or Collin County is in nonattainment for?

Texas Nonattainment/Maintenance Status for Each County by Year for All Criteria Pollutants

County NAAQS Population (2010)
Collin County Lead (2008) 3,670
Dallas County 1-Hour Ozone (1979)-NAAQS revoked 2,368,139
Dallas County 8-Hour Ozone (1997)-NAAQS revoked 2,368,139
Dallas County 8-Hour Ozone (2008) 2,368,139

What is a nonattainment county?

In United States environmental law, a non-attainment area is an area considered to have air quality worse than the National Ambient Air Quality Standards as defined in the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1970 (P.L. An area may be a non-attainment area for one pollutant and an “attainment area” for others.

What is nonattainment status?

If the air quality in a geographic area meets or is cleaner than the national standard, it is called an attainment area (designated “attainment/unclassifiable”); areas that don’t meet the national standard are called nonattainment areas.

What is non-attainment cities?

Non-attainment cities in India are set to get air pollution action plans. Cities are declared non-attainment if over a 5-year period they consistently do not meet the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for PM 10 (Particulate matter that is 10 microns or less in diameter) or NO2 (Nitrogen Dioxide).

Are Vocs a criteria pollutant?

The criteria pollutants are ground-level ozone, particulate matter, lead, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, and sulfur dioxide. Volatile organic compounds are also monitored, tracked, and controlled to help reduce ozone concentrations in our air, but do not have their own standards.

What are non attainment cities?

Non-attainment cities: These are those that have fallen short of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for over five years.

What states are in the Ozone Transport Region?

The Ozone Transport Region (OTR) was established by operation of law under CAA section 184 and comprises the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont, the District of Columbia, and the portion of Virginia that is within …

Share this post