Common questions

What is akshobhya Buddha?

What is akshobhya Buddha?

Akshobhya (Sanskrit: अक्षोभ्य, Akṣobhya, “Immovable One”; traditional Chinese: 阿閦如来; ; pinyin: Āchùrúlái; Japanese pronunciation: Ashuku Nyorai) is one of the Five Wisdom Buddhas, a product of the Adibuddha, who represents consciousness as an aspect of reality.

What is vairocana Buddha?

Vairocana (also Mahāvairocana, Sanskrit: वैरोचन) is a cosmic buddha from Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism. In East Asian Buddhism (Chinese, Korean and Japanese Buddhism), Vairocana is also seen as the embodiment of the Buddhist concept of śūnyatā.

How do you pronounce akshobhya?

  1. Phonetic spelling of Akshobhya. ak-shob-hya. ack-sho-bye-ya.
  2. Meanings for Akshobhya. Proper noun – one of the Five Wisdom Buddhas.
  3. Translations of Akshobhya. Russian : Акшобхьи Portuguese : akshobya.

What is mirror like wisdom?

Ādarśa-jñāna, the wisdom of “Mirror-like Awareness”, “devoid of all dualistic thought and ever united with its ‘content’ as a mirror is with its reflections”; This type of wisdom is a transformation of the eighth consciousness, the Alayavijnana. Hence, it is also understood as the wisdom of equality or impartiality.

What is Dharmachakra Mudra?

Dharmachakra in Sanskrit means the ‘Wheel of Dharma’. This mudra symbolizes one of the most important moments in the life of Buddha, the occasion when he preached to his companions the first sermon after his Enlightenment in the Deer Park at Sarnath. This mudra is displayed by the first Dhyani Buddha Vairochana.

What is the meaning of vairocana?

Vairochana, (Sanskrit: “Illuminator”) also called Mahavairochana (“Great Illuminator”), the supreme Buddha, as regarded by many Mahayana Buddhists of East Asia and of Tibet, Nepal, and Java. Dainichi Nyorai (“Great Sun Buddha”) by Unkei, lacquered wood sculpture, 1175; in the Enjō-ji, Nara, Japan. Asuka-en, Japan.

What are the five Buddha family?

The Five Families or Divisions and their qualities

Family (Kula) Buddha Colour ← Element → Symbolism
Buddha Family Vairocana white ← space → wheel
Karma Family Amoghasiddhi green ← air, wind → viśvavajra
Padma (Lotus) Family Amitābha red ← fire → lotus
Ratna (Jewel) Family Ratnasambhava gold/yellow ← earth → jewel

What are the 5 poisons?

The five principal kleshas, which are sometimes called poisons, are attachment, aversion, ignorance, pride, and jealousy. The processes that not only describe what we perceive, but also determine our responses.

What does Maitreya mean?

the future Buddha
Maitreya, in Buddhist tradition, the future Buddha, presently a bodhisattva residing in the Tushita heaven, who will descend to earth to preach anew the dharma (“law”) when the teachings of Gautama Buddha have completely decayed. The name Maitreya is derived from the Sanskrit maitrī (“friendliness”).

Which is the best definition of Aksobhya?

Akṣobhya (अक्षोभ्य) refers to “immovable Buddha” and represents one of the “five Buddhas” (pañcabuddha) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 3). The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., pañcabuddha and Akṣobhya).

Who is the consort of Akshobhya in Buddhism?

In Vajrayana Buddhism, Akshobhya (Sanskrit for “Immovable One”) is one of the Five Wisdom Buddhas, a product of the Adibuddha, who represents consciousness as an aspect of reality. His consort is Locana and he is normally accompanied by two elephants.

Why was Akshobhya Buddha known as the immovable Buddha?

Akshobhya means immovable; hence this Buddha is also known by the name Immovable. According to the Land of Akshobhya Buddha Sutra, Akshobhya Buddha carried out his bodhisattva practice under the Buddha Large Eyes and attained enlightenment, completely freeing himself from all animosity and earthly desires, and now preaches in the Land of Joy.

How many bhumis does Aksobhya stand for in Buddhism?

Akṣobhya (अक्षोभ्य) is the name of a Buddha under whom Śākyamuni (or Gautama, ‘the historical Buddha’) acquired merit along the first through nine bhūmis, according to the Mahāvastu. There are in total ten bhūmis representing the ten stages of the Bodhisattva’s path towards enlightenment.

Share this post