What are the TESOL standards?

What are the TESOL standards?

The “TESOL Technology Standards” focus on how English language teachers, teacher educators, and administrators can and should use technology in and out of the classroom.

How many TESOL standards are there?

five language proficiency standards
The standards publication presents five language proficiency standards. They include both social and academic uses of the language students must acquire for success in and beyond the classroom.

What are the main components of the EFL professional standards?

This institution is in charge of the main four components of the project: the national standards for teaching and learning English, the professional development of English teachers, the policies of English testing, and the accreditation of institutions that teach English.

What are the English language proficiency standards?

In total, there are 10 standards. They cover all four domains of language: reading, writing, listening, and speaking. Each standard is broken down into tasks that English Language Learners (ELLs) at different language proficiency levels can complete.

What are the 5 levels of English language proficiency?

Five Levels of Language Proficiency for English Language Learners

  • Preproduction.
  • Beginning Production.
  • Speech Emergence.
  • Intermediate Fluency.
  • Advanced Fluency.

What are the four levels of English proficiency?

The four proficiency levels are beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high. The PLDs describe how well ELs at each proficiency level are able to understand and use English to engage in grade-appropriate academic instruction. There are separate PLDs for listening, speaking, reading, and writing.

What is Level 2 English proficiency?

Level 2 – Emerging Limited ability to communicate in English. Understands simple directions. Begins to recognize environmental print. Limited understanding of English vocabulary. Limited ability to decode unknown words.

What does tesol stand for?

Teaching English to speakers of other languages
TESL: Teaching English as a second language. Often used to refer to teacher education programs in ESL. TESOL: Teaching English to speakers of other languages. A professional activity that requires specialized training.

What EFL professional?

Within education, newly emerging professionals in occupations such as TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages), ESL (English as a Second Language), and EFL (English as a Foreign Language) had shared a disadvantaged status until recently.

What are the 6 language proficiency levels?

Proficiency Level Scores They help stakeholders understand what the numeric score means in terms of the language skills of the student. They describe student performance in terms of the six WIDA English language proficiency levels: (1–Entering, 2–Emerging, 3–Developing, 4–Expanding, 5–Bridging, 6–Reaching).

What are El levels?

Level 1- Beginner (Very limited English) Level 2- Early Intermediate. Level 3- Intermediate. Level 4- Advanced. Level 5- Fluent English Proficient.

What is B1 B2 C1 or C2 level?

B1 (Pre-Intermediate) B2 (Intermediate) C1 (Upper-Intermediate) C2 (Advanced)

What does TESOL stand for?

As you may already know, TESOL stands for Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages and encompasses what used to be called TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) and TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language).

What is TESOL, TEFL, and TESL?

TEFL, TESL, and TESOL are all English teacher training courses . Each of these qualifications, however, prepare instructors for a different type of teaching environment. Depending on your international teaching aspirations, one type of course may be a better fit than another.

What is a TESOL certificate program?

A TESOL certification is one of the most commonly recognized qualifications for teaching the English language to non-native speakers. TESOL is considered as equivalent to TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language) and TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language).

What are the requirements to be an ESL teacher?

If you plan to become an ESL teacher, you’ll typically need at least a bachelor’s degree from an accredited school. While fluency in a foreign language isn’t required to teach ESL, it may be beneficial.

Share this post