What are the language policy in Nigeria?

What are the language policy in Nigeria?

The present language policy recognises only Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo as ‘major’ languages, and so does not give equal rights to all languages. Assimilation to lingua francas has been the plight of many minority languages.

What are the current national policy of education in Nigeria?

According to Nigeria’s latest National Policy on Education (2004), basic education covers nine years of formal (compulsory) schooling consisting of six years of elementary and three years of junior secondary education. Post-basic education includes three years of senior secondary education.

What are the five national goals of education in Nigeria?

Concerned Citizens for the Revival of Education and Community Development

  • A free and democratic society.
  • A just and egalitarian society.
  • A united, strong and self-reliant nation.
  • A great and dynamic economy.
  • A land full of bright opportunities for all citizens.

What is the role of language policy in education?

In education, the most important language policy decisions are about the choice of medium of instruction. Language policies may also be implicit, which refers to social rules for language use that regulate language learning and language behavior in institutions and social groups.

What are the types of language policy?

Four major types of language planning are status planning (about the social standing of a language), corpus planning (the structure of a language), language-in-education planning (learning), and prestige planning (image).

What is Nigeria national policy?

The National Policy on Education provides in the curriculum of Junior Secondary school in Nigeria the teaching of Social Studies. The policy makes provision for six years of primary school, three years of junior secondary school, three years of senior secondary school, and four years of university education (6.3. 3.4).

What is CBC in education?

CBC stands for Competency Based Curriculum. This is the new education system in Kenya that is currently set to replace the 8-4-4 education system. The system was introduced in 2017.

What are the 4 types of language policy?

Share this post