What are the 6 different types of food groups?

What are the 6 different types of food groups?

The 6 Major Food Groups

  • Whole grains and starchy vegetables.
  • Fruits and non-starchy vegetables.
  • Dairy and non-dairy alternatives.
  • Fish, poultry, meat, eggs and alternatives.
  • Heart-healthy oils.
  • Elective or Discretionary Calories.

How many food group do we have?

The MyPlate model shows the five food groups (fruits, vegetables, proteins, grains/starch, and dairy) in a proportion set, making it easier to understand the types of food and quantity to include in each meal. MyPlate visually represents what an ideal meal should look like, without too many dietary restrictions.

What are the food pyramid groups?

There are six categories in the Food Pyramid: the bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group (grains), the fruit group, the vegetable group, the meat, poultry, fish, dry beans, eggs, and nuts group (protein), the milk, yogurt, and cheese group (dairy), and the fats, oils, and sweets group.

What are the 3 basic food groups?

The basic food groups are: breads, cereals, rice, pasta, noodles and other grains….The three basic food groups are Go,Glow and Grow.

  • GO FOOD GROUP gives our body heat and energy.
  • GROW FOOD GROUP repairs and build our body cells and tissues.
  • GLOW FOOD GROUP regulate and protect our body.

What are the names of the six food groups?

Basically, there are six groups of food: starches, vegetables, fruits, milk, meat & meat substitutes, as well as fats & sweets. At the very bottom of the pyramid are the starches and above it are the vegetables and fruits.

What are one of the five major food groups?

5 Main Food Groups Fruits. The fruit food group encompasses a wide range of fresh fruits and fruit products, including dried, frozen and canned fruit, and 100 percent fruit juice. Vegetables. Grains. Protein Foods. Dairy.

What are the five basic food groups?

The five basic food groups include vegetables and fruits, starchy foods, dairy products, foods containing fat and sugar, and the meat and poultry group.

What are the five food groups on the pyramid?

There are five main food groups consisting of grains, dairy, meats, and fruit and vegetables (the latter are often combined into one). There is another sub-group titled “other,” which consists of fats and sugars. The food pyramid discusses how much of each food should be consumed for a healthy diet.

Share this post