What are ISCED levels?

What are ISCED levels?

These levels, called the International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) levels, are used to compile internationally comparable statistics on education. The classification distinguishes between seven levels of education ranging from preprimary to tertiary.

What means ISCED?

International Standard Classification of Education
The International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) is a statistical framework for organizing information on education maintained by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

What is a Level 6 qualification equivalent to?

Level 6 qualifications are at a level equivalent to bachelor’s degrees with honours, graduate certificates and graduate diplomas.

Is Level 6 A higher?

The existing Advanced Higher (level 7) and Higher (level 6) qualifications were retained as points of stability and have been reviewed to ensure they fully reflect Curriculum for Excellence.

Is Level 6 a degree?

Level 6 refers to qualifications gained at degree level, indicating the holder has graduated from a centre for further education. Examples of Level 6 qualifications include: Bachelor’s degree (with or without honours) Graduate diploma.

What does ISCED stand for in education category?

ISCED is the reference international classification for organising education programmes and related qualifications by levels and fields. ISCED 2011 (levels of education) has been implemented in all EU data collections since 2014. ISCED-F 2013 (fields of education and training) has been implemented since 2016.

What was the change in ISCED in 2011?

ISCED 2011 (levels of education) took into account the changes in education systems occurred over the last decade, mainly relating to the Bologna process in tertiary education, but also to the expansion of education programmes for very young children.

When did the third version of ISCED come out?

The UNESCO Institute for Statistics led the development of a third version, which was adopted by UNESCO’s 36th General Conference in November 2011 and which will replace ISCED 1997 in international data collections in the coming years. ISCED 2011 has 9 rather than 7 levels, created by dividing the tertiary pre-doctorate level into three levels.

How many fields are there in ISCED F 2013?

ISCED-F 2013 – ISCED Fields of Education and Training 2013 – is a classification of fields of education, which accompanies ISCED 2011. It will be implemented in EU data collections from 2016. ISCED-F 2013 contains 11 broad fields (2 digits), 29 narrow fields (3 digits) and about 80 detailed fields (4 digits).

Share this post