Common questions

How many extant species of sharks are there?

How many extant species of sharks are there?

There are more than 1,000 species of sharks and rays, with new species discovered every year. These majestic top predators that are so essential to the natural order of marine ecosystems now face their most severe threat from overfishing.

What is an extinct species of shark?

Megalodon (Carcharodon megalodon) was an ancient, meat-eating shark, living between 5-1.6 million years ago; it is extinct.

How many types of sharks are there 2021?

There are about 400 species of sharks. Below are some of the best-known varieties of sharks, along with facts about sharks that you may not know.

What kind of shark has a long snout?

Bramble Sharks (Echinorhiniformes) – are large, sluggish, deepwater sharks. There are only 2 species in this entire Family. Dogfish Sharks (Squaliformes) – have a short mouth with a long snout and 5 pairs of gills. Sawsharks (Pristiophoriformes) – have a long saw-like snout, which they use to stun prey and defend themselves against predators.

What kind of anatomy does a shark have?

Sharks belong to the Phylum Chordata and the Sub-phylum Vertebrata. This means they have a spinal chord, notochord and a backbone (vertebrae). Includes the more familiar groups: birds, mammals, reptiles and amphibians. Sharks belong to the Class Chondrichthyes. This includes all fish that have a skeleton made of cartilage.

Which is the youngest living group of sharks?

Hammerhead shark evolution. The youngest living group of sharks are thought to be the distinctive hammerhead sharks. Hammerhead sharks are thought to be the youngest shark group to have evolved, and may date back only 23 million years © wildestanimal/Shutterstock.

What kind of sharks are there in the world?

1 CARCHARHINIFORMES. Also known as “ground sharks,” carcharhiniformes is largest order of sharks. 2 HETERODONTIFORMES. This is a small order of sharks with only nine (9) known species. 3 HEXANCHIFORMES. 4 LAMNIFORMES. 5 ORECTOLOBIFORMES. 6 PRISTIOPHORIFORMES. 7 SQUALIFORMES. 8 SQUATINIFORMES.

Share this post