Common questions

How do you remember a Salter Harris fracture?

How do you remember a Salter Harris fracture?

A Salter-Harris Type IV fracture can be remembered using the 4th letter of the “SALTR” mnemonic, “T”. This will help you remember that a type IV fracture travels through the metaphysis, through the physis, and through the epiphysis.

What are the 5 types of Salter-Harris fractures?

Salter-Harris fractures are classified into 5 types:

  • Type I is a fracture through the growth plate.
  • Type II extends through the metaphysis and the growth plate.
  • Type III is an intra-articular fracture through the growth plate and the epiphysis.
  • Type IV extends through the epiphysis, the growth plate and the metaphysis.

How do you remember types of fractures?


  1. S: slipped (type I)
  2. A: above or away from joint (type II)
  3. L: lower (type III)
  4. T: through or transverse or together (type IV)
  5. R: ruined or rammed (type V)

What is a Type 2 Salter Harris fracture?

Type 2. This fracture occurs when the growth plate is hit and splits away from the joint along with a small piece of the bone shaft. This is the most common type and happens most often in children over 10. About 75 percent of Salter-Harris fractures are type 2.

What is the Salter Harris classification?

The Salter-Harris classification system is a method used to grade fractures that occur in children and involve the growth plate, which is also known as the physis or physial plate. The classification system grades fractures according to the involvement of the physis, metaphysis, and epiphysis.

Is the metaphysis the growth plate?

The metaphysis is the neck portion of a long bone between the epiphysis and the diaphysis. It contains the growth plate, the part of the bone that grows during childhood, and as it grows it ossifies near the diaphysis and the epiphyses.

What are the types of Salter Harris fractures?


  • Salter I (Slipped) This is when the fracture line extends through the physis or within the growth plate.
  • Salter II (Above) These are when the fracture extends through both the physis and metaphysis.
  • Salter III (Lower)
  • Salter IV (Through/Transverse)
  • Salter V (Rammed/Ruined)

How many types of Salter Harris fractures are there?

There are nine types of Salter–Harris fractures; types I to V as described by Robert B Salter and W Robert Harris in 1963, and the rarer types VI to IX which have been added subsequently: Type I – transverse fracture through the growth plate (also referred to as the “physis”): 6% incidence.

What are the five major types of fractures?

Here are five common types of fractures:

  • Open (compound) fracture.
  • Stress fracture.
  • Comminuted fracture.
  • Greenstick fracture.
  • Compression fracture.

How do you treat a Salter-Harris Type 2 fracture?

Type I and II fractures are often treated with a closed reduction, which involves setting a bone back in place without surgery. After realignment of the bone, a cast or splint is typically applied to keep the bone stable so it may heal properly.

What is a Grade 2 fracture?

grade 2: wound 1-10 cm in length without extensive soft-tissue damage, flaps or avulsions. grade 3: extensive soft-tissue laceration (>10 cm) or tissue loss/damage or an open segmental fracture. open fractures caused by farm injuries. injuries requiring vascular intervention.

Which is the most common type of Salter fracture?

Salter Type V fractures ( Rammed ): Crush injuries to the epiphyseal plate; rarest; often missed diagnosis; most common in the knee and ankle.

What does saltr stand for in medical category?

SALTR 1 S: slipped (type I) 2 A: above or away from joint (type II) 3 L: lower (type III) 4 T: through or transverse or together (type IV) 5 R: ruined or rammed (type V)

Which is the most used classification for physeal fractures?

The Salter-Harris classification was proposed by Salter and Harris in 1963 1 and at the time of writing (June 2016) remains the most widely used system for describing physeal fractures.

Share this post