How do I become a registered contractor in Arizona?
What are the steps to getting a contractor license in Arizona?
- Identify a Qualifying Party who meets minimum requirements.
- Pass examinations.
- Submit to background checks.
- Form a legal entity.
- Obtain a bond.
- Pay required fees.
- Provide Government issued identification.
- Complete and submit application.
Who regulates contractors in Arizona?
the Registrar of Contractors
Arizona Revised Statutes 32-1103 requires contractors operating in the state to obtain a Contractors License with the Registrar of Contractors. The Arizona legislature enacted licensing laws and regulations to ensure that contractors engage in ethical business practices.
What is a ROC contractor?
In some states, the licensing bureau is called a registrar of contractors, or ROC. Regardless of what they are called, these licensing departments set the minimum criteria a contractor must meet to earn a license and serve clients in that state.
Do contractors have to be licensed in Arizona?
You can do handyman work without one, but getting an official contractor’s license in Arizona helps you earn more. The state requires licensed contractors to handle jobs totaling over $1,000. And in the construction industry, that’s most of them. Without a license, you’re limited to smaller, lower-paying jobs.
Can I be my own general contractor in Arizona?
Under Arizona law an owner of any land can build a home on that land without obtaining a contractor’s license but only if the owner of the land intends to occupy the home, and does not intend to sell or rent the home. Contracting without a license is a crime, namely, a Class One misdemeanor.
What does the Arizona Registrar of Contractors do?
The Arizona Legislature established the Registrar of Contractors in 1931. The ROC licenses and regulates residential and commercial contractors. ROC staff investigate and work to resolve complaints against licensed contractors and unlicensed entities.
Can I sue an unlicensed contractor in Arizona?
In a nutshell: An unlicensed contractor has no right to sue for payment for unlicensed work.
Is it illegal to hire an unlicensed contractor in Arizona?
Arizona law allows unlicensed contractors to perform certain jobs as long as they cost less than $1,000, including labor, materials and other items. This is commonly referred to as Arizona’s “handyman” exemption for a limited range of services.
Can you build a cob house in Arizona?
Cob is safe, and is increasingly recognized as such by building codes. Arizona is the only state with building codes that specifically allow for cob construction, but many post-and-beam buildings with cob infill have been approved in other states.
How do you get contractors license in Arizona?
Steps Go to roc.az.gov or any Arizona Registrar of Contractors to obtain an Arizona Contractor’s License Application. Identify your qualifying party. Pass Examination(s).The Qualifying Party must pass the required examinations by at least 70% and submit the exam results.
How much is contractors license in Arizona?
For commercial contractor licenses, bonds can be from $5,000 to $90,000 for each license. For residential contractor licenses, they’re from $1,000 to $15,000 each. Residential contractors also need to pay into the Arizona Recovery Fund.
How do you look up contractors license number?
The most accurate way to look up a license is with a CCB license number. Contractors must put this number on their advertising, including brochures, websites, and business cards. Ask the contractor for the number, if necessary. Search all or part of the business name or the last name of the contractor.
What is ROC complaint?
The ROC complaint process is designed to encourage the parties to come to their own resolution. At multiple stages in the process, the ROC provides an opportunity for the parties to settle the dispute. Once an ROC complaint is filed, however, it may already be too late for the parties to settle the dispute.