How do I become a licensed Massage Therapist in Colorado?
Massage license applicants in Colorado must complete massage education and training of at least 500 hours of classroom and clinical work at a Colorado approved massage program. You must request that an official school transcript be mailed directly from your school to the Office of Licensing — Attn: MT Licensure.
Do you have to be licensed to be a Massage Therapist in Colorado?
Obtain licensure In Colorado, licensed Massage Therapists are required to have 500 hours of training from a board-approved Massage Therapy school. That means you’ll need to practice massaging real clients in a professional setting.
Can you practice massage therapy without a license in Colorado?
(1) A person who practices or offers or attempts to practice massage therapy without an active license issued under this article commits a class 2 misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided in section 18-1.3-501, C.R.S., for the first offense, and for the second or any subsequent offense, the person commits a class …
How much is a massage license in Colorado?
Colorado Licensure for Massage Therapists and Exam Details
|Web Information||Colorado State Office of MT Registration|
|National Exam Requirement||MBLEx|
|CEU’s||No state CE hrs required/2 years|
|Initial Cost of License||$90.00 Application|
|Require City License||Check Local City & County Business Regulations|
How long is massage school in Colorado?
Make sure the school you attend is regulated and approved by the Colorado Division of Private Occupational Schools, Department of Higher Education for certification. Certification requires a minimum of 500 hours of training at an accredited institution. Schools in Colorado often provide 600 to 800 hours of training.
How many hours are required for a massage license in Colorado?
In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 500 hours from an approved massage therapy program. You will also need to prove that you have professional liability insurance coverage. You can find application request forms on their website.
Do massage therapists have to be licensed?
Most states require you to be licensed to work as a massage therapist. However, massage therapy licensing doesn’t have as long a history as licensing in many other disciplines. Most states require you to be licensed to work as a massage therapist. The major requirements are generally education and examination.