Do the Discworld books have to be read in order?

Do the Discworld books have to be read in order?

The Discworld Series consists of several “sub series”. The books aren’t labeled according to the series they belong to, and the books can be read and enjoyed without reading them in order (phew!). But to get the most pleasure out of them, reading the books in their proper order is best.

What Discworld book should I read first?

The Carpet People is the perfect read to get anyone acquainted with Pratchett’s truly unique style of storytelling – it’s his very first book after all! This epic fantasy follows a tribe called The Munrungs, across their world known as the Carpet.

How many Terry Pratchett Discworld books are there?

41 Discworld novels
In total, there are 41 Discworld novels published over 32 years. The books can be read in any order but for ease we have created two downloadable lists for you that will help you to fully explore the stories and characters of Discworld.

What is the best Discworld novel to start with?

How to Read Discworld: The 7 Best Discworld Books for First-…

  • Sourcery.
  • Going Postal.
  • Hogfather.
  • Guards! Guards!
  • Mort.
  • Night Watch.
  • The Wee Free Men.

Can you read Hogfather as a standalone?

You can definitely just jump in and read Hogfather without reading the other 3 books. You won’t be lost. However, you will miss out on a lot if you skip the first three books of the Death sub-series.

What order should I read the Wheel of Time books?

The Wheel of Time Books In Chronological Story Order

  • New Spring.
  • The Eye of the World.
  • The Great Hunt.
  • The Dragon Reborn.
  • The Shadow Rising.
  • The Fires of Heaven.
  • Lord of Chaos.
  • A Crown of Swords.

Are Discworld books for adults?

Discworld works better as an adult. Read it! I’d definitely urge you to read it. While there’s some adolescent-friendly humor (silly puns, body function jokes), most of it is mature humor, based on deep knowledge of human nature and society.

Should I read the Wheel of Time Prequel first?

New Spring – prequel, you can read it when you want after that point, but it’s better to read the first 10 books before. The action takes place before the first book, The Eye of the World, but the story will not be fully understandable if you read it at the beginning.

Should you read new spring first?

New Spring is a prequel, but it’s not meant to be the introduction to the series. It doesn’t explain who most of the characters are and how things work. And it reveals certain story elements that would normally remain unknown until book 3 or book 4.

Share this post